Ink Blend A Galaxy

I have watched a lot of Youtube videos on ink blending and I’ve been wanting to try it out. My first attempt is to create a galaxy background. It seems quite daunting at first but this idea really excites me.

thumbnail

I created these 2 panels today to practice ink blending on both watercolor paper (right) and normal white cardstock (left). I used Ranger Distress Ink Pads and Simon Says Stamp Pigment Inks. I blend in the inks with the Ranger mini blending tool. For the card on the right, I used Picked Raspberry, Seedless Preserves, Chipped Sapphire and Black Soot. For the one on the left, I used Peacock Feathers, Salty Ocean, Seedless Preserves, Chipped Sapphire and Black Soot.

12064109_10153570889694360_1580480161_n

Turns out ink blending is NOT EASY!! I tried my best to be light-handed to avoid leaving harsh lines, but that is IMPOSSIBLE for a beginner like me LOL. However, after flicking a lot of stars onto the cards you can’t really see those lines! So I guess you don’t have to be super careful at this 🙂

12083915_10153570889744360_1336156151_n

Then, I stamped out a moon using silver (right) and grey (left) ink. This stamp set is called To The Moon and it is from Altenew. I am so in love with this stamp set now! I think I will create more cards using this stamp set! Then I cut the moon out with a circle die cut and added shading to it for realism.

If you’d like video tutorial, go ahead and click on the video above. Happy creating!

I have entered this card to Virginia’s View Challenge #19

5 thoughts on “Ink Blend A Galaxy

  1. Hi Amy: I’ve been wanting to learn how to do a galaxy with distress inks and really loved your tutorial. Thank you for the guidance and I’m going to make the leap and do one today. Your cards are phenomenal!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

