Penguin Alert | Penguin Tree Holiday Card & Freaked out Penguin

Penguins are one my favorite animals. Today I’m playing with the Mama Elephant’s Arctic Penguins stamp set to create a non-traditional Christmas card. Here is the card!

12170575_10153602186019360_1028945438_n

It all started from an idea to create a Christmas tree. I wondered if I could pile up the penguins to make a tree. I did a lot of masking to pile them up and tried my best to make it look natural and organic (although I think there’s nothing organic about a pile of penguins).

12165829_10153602169269360_1113580168_n

Then, I colored the penguins with copic markers and fussy-cut them out. I used distress inks to blend a purplish background. I like how yellow and purple go together and they aren’t traditional Christmas colors. The colors I used are Seedless Preserve, Picked Raspberry and Dusty Concord.

Then, I took a piece of white cardstock and die cut a circle in the lower center. This makes an opening for the purplish sky to show. I also also added embossing paste onto the white panel to add stars and snow. I think it adds interest to the plain white panel and it’s the perfect touch for this card! I also cut out some white and vellum stitched clouds from from the Mama Elephant Landscape Trio die. The clouds imply that the penguins are standing on a magical sky πŸ™‚

12170303_10153602168819360_744781439_n

Right now, there is not enough to show that this is a holiday card. So I stamped a penguin on top and made it holding a holiday bow. The bow acts as the star of the Christmas tree and the penguin is trying to put it on top of the tree. How cute! The bow is made from The Ton’s Holiday Bow stamp set. I used some yellow and black ink to stamp the bow. I also propped up the bow to finish off the card. I’m so glad I did this because this really lights up the whole card!

I have entered this card to CAS-ual Fridays Clean and Simple Challenge,Β Virginia’s View Challenge #19Β andΒ Hero Arts Holiday Cardmaking Challenge

12170506_10153602169399360_297663177_n

By the way, I have also used one of the Arctic Penguin on my planner. Halloween is coming, I guess this freaked out penguin would get me into the spirit.

Hope you enjoy! Thank you for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Penguin Alert | Penguin Tree Holiday Card & Freaked out Penguin

  1. I think your penguin idea is brilliant and having the penguin putting the bow on top is such a cool idea! Really love the pink background and the stitched die-cuts. Gorgeous card and I’m so glad you shared it with us at CAS-ual Fridays!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

