Have a Penguiny Christmas

I made another holiday card with the penguins. The idea is a Xmas penguin (or Santa helper, whatever you call it) is skating by among other civilian penguins to announce that Xmas is here.

804527_10153613701719360_413407837_n

I stamped the Xmas penguin first, then masked it. Then stamp the ice, mask it again. I did the same thing for all the civilian penguins behind. It took me quite some time. It’s definitely a good practice for patience ☺️

For the background, I used tumbled glass distress ink for the land and tumbled glass, seedless preserve and black soot for the winter sky. I created the stars by flicking some white acrylic paint with a paint brush.

The happiest moment was when I pulled off all the masks and revealed the penguins!!! They weren’t all perfect because some masks moved when I was distressing. That’s ok though. I did some touch ups with my black gel pen.

I colored all the penguins with copic markers. Another good practice of patience.

I finished off the card front by adding the Santa hat and the present to the Xmas penguin and stamped the sentiment “Skatin’ by to say”.  I also stamped some little details to make the whole scene more animated.

12170301_10153613709504360_567521486_n

Here is how the inside of the card looks like. I wanted a continuation from the card front. So I stamped Merry Christmas and the same Xmas penguin skating through the word. Check out his exact same outfit (and clumsiness… Don’t you think this penguin looks like it’s about to fall over?) 😁

After finishing the card, I realized that the inside of the card can be a really simple card as well! So I made one more card (on the right), this one is top folding 😛 Here they are. Hope you enjoy today’s post.

12179160_10153613701694360_793691374_n

Supplies:

  1. Mama Elephant Arctic Penguins Stamp Set
  2. Mama Elephant Jolly and Merry Stamp Set
  3. Distress Inks in Tumbled Glass, Seedless Preserve, Black Soot
  4. White Acrylic Paint
  5. Copic Markers – 0, C00, C1, C2, Y13, B000, B02
  6. Red tone color pencils

Leave a Reply

