Masking with Die Cuts

My crafty friend Ka is having a Design Team call for her 2016 challenge blog. So I’m making a card to support her. I’m going for the middle row – leaves, embossing and sparkles. I was thinking about Thanksgiving when making this card. Instead of going for traditional colors e.g. yellow/orange, I went for peach and pink.

Design Team Call Challenge Badge Red

Shimmer thanks (2) (2)

 

This challenge actually inspired me to break out my Altenew peony scrolls stamp set. I resisted the flowers and only used the leaves to go with the Fall theme.

First, I die cut a bunch of leaves from masking paper and adhered them onto my card front. Then I spritzed some peachy spray mist onto the background. I am in love with Wplus9’s spray mists! They have really unique colors! I also layered the shimmer spray mist on top for the extra shimmer. I learned this technique from Dawn from Wplus9. I feel like not many people use/know about their spray mists. So I’d like to show you below.

Shimmer thanks (1)

When the masks were removed, I heat embossed the leaves in the white areas. I used pink and gold embossing powder. All the leaves were in pink, only one in gold, because I wanted some hint of gold. The sentiment is from Altenew’s Label Love set. To finish off, I added gold thread, gold dots and some crystal droplets. The whole card is full of shimmer in person!!

Challenges I’m entering this card into:

Virginia’s View Challenge #20 – I feel like this card has more visual texture than actual texture to the touch, you know what I mean? Anyways, the textures I applied in this card include spray mist, heat embossing, shimmer, crystal droplets, gold dots and gold thread.

Share Handmade Kindness Week 2 – I am giving this card to my therapist, who constantly watches out for me and helps me stay positive in my recovery. This card is going to participate in

CAS-ual Fridays CFC145 – Metal elements used: Gold embossing, gold thread and gold dots

Altenew Video Challenge #3

15 thoughts on “Masking with Die Cuts

  1. First of all, you are seriously SO talented! Secondly, this card is STUNNING! A gorgeous design! Adding the gold thread behind your sentiment was the perfect touch to your card design. Third, you are a genius for masking your leaves first before adding heat embossing. I think this step would have save me TONS of embossing powders. I messed up a lot. 🙂 And lastly, if I hadn’t known that you were having a hard time with the challenge, I would’ve believe that this design came easily to you. Thanks SO much for playing along & supporting my new Tic-Tac-Toe Challenge! Have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

