Stretch Your Everyday Supplies for Christmas Projects

12226768_10153645141154360_1420495140_n (2)

Craft supplies can get expensive!! You know that, I know that! It’d be perfect if we can stretch our supplies for the holiday season without even buying anything new. I gotta admit I completely broke down and bought a ton of holiday stamps and dies. However, I did create this Christmas card using mostly ordinary items e.g. bokeh and cityscape. So I’d like to share with you πŸ™‚

My inspiration comes from my home, Hong Kong, where Christmas lights always fill the whole city during holiday season. I remember I was so happy and satisfied just walking around the city and seeing those lights.

I used the Bokeh Lights stencil from Simon Says Stamp to create an illusion of Christmas lights floating around the city. I used really happy colors of distress inks to blend in the bokeh πŸ™‚

I also die cut a cityscape from Mama Elephant, but this die cut is designed for vertical card, so it wasn’t long enough to cover my card. Therefore, I did some partial die cutting and left a small space between two die cuts. I then used my craft knife to connect them together and cut out some small windows in between.

When it comes to filling in those tiny windows, I simply used my negative die cut as a mask, placed it exactly where the skyline should be, and filled in with mustand seed distress ink. Then, I adhered the whole cityscape on top of it with those yellow windows peeking out. This way I saved a ton of effort! Otherwise, I’d have to stick yellow paper behind the whole die cut and fussy cut it out!!!

To finish the card, I stamped in the Christmas sentiment from The Ton Stamps. This sentiment is the key in this card because it ties everything together and transformed it into a Christmas card. Lastly, I used my Wink of Stella Clear Glitter pen on all the windows. I sure love this card very much!Β I hope you like it too! πŸ™‚

Supplies:

  1. Simon Says StampΒ Bokeh Lights Stencil
  2. Mama Elephant Cityscape Creative Cuts
  3. Distress inks – Festive Berries, Picked Raspberry, Squeezed Lemonade, Mustand Seed, Spiced Marmalade, Seedless Preserve
  4. The Ton Holiday Lyrics Stamp Set

Challenge(s) entered:

Share Handmde Kindness – This card is going to a kind neighbor πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Stretch Your Everyday Supplies for Christmas Projects

  1. Spending the afternoon catching up on some blog posts and wanted to let you know how much I love this card. So fabulous to stretch out your products like this and the tip for colouring the windows is brilliant. I’m off to see some more of your posts!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

