Illusion and Fantasy

My title today is a little weird but illusion and fantasy are indeed the themes of my two new creations.

2.2

The first card features some colorful Christmas ornaments. Ornaments from afar, but actuallyΒ they are not ornaments! Look closer. They are actually planets. That’s where illusion comes in. Our eyes fool us all the time πŸ™‚

In this card, I distressed the background in different shades of blues then added stars (my favorite thing to do). The planets are made with a combination of two stamps – Altenew’s moon stamp and the woodgrain background stamp. I first stamped the solid moon stamp on my ink pad, then I stamped it onto the wood grain a few times to get the planet texture. Then, I cut them out in circles and added shadows and highlights. DONE! The sentiment is from The Ton’s Holiday Lyrics.

1.4

The second card is based on my fantasy – what if the reindeers fly all the way to the moon?! It is made using the same moon stamp. I heat embossed the moon in silver and placed it at the bottom of the card. The reindeers and sledge are from My Favorite Things’ Winter Wonderland set. I colored them with Copic markers. The sentiment is also from the same set. The background is distressed with blues and purples.

I actually made these two cards together in one day. I find that it’s super efficient to work on multiple cards with similar design and technique together. It saves me a ton of time and effort!

Supplies:

  1. Tim Holtz Distress Inks – Tumbled Glass, Salty Ocean, Broken China, Blueprint Sketch, Seedless Preserve
  2. Altenew To The Moon Stamp Set
  3. Altenew Wood Pallet Background Stamp Set
  4. The Ton Holiday Lyrics Stamp Set
  5. My Favorite Things Winter Wonderland Stamp and Die

2 thoughts on “Illusion and Fantasy

  1. These really are out of this world!! The dimension you get with those Christmas baubles is incredible and how cool to use planets and woodgrain to get texture and interest!! And those reindeer around the moon are so beautifully coloured and love the sky colours. I have to ask though, how do you do the stars?? Do you flick ink over the background?? Would love to know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

