DIY Christmas Advent Calendar

A few blog posts past I’ve mentioned I’ve gotten a big project coming. This is IT! I’ve made my first advent calendar. I never had one because I didn’t grow up in the US but this year I decided to made it and keep it as our little Christmas tradition ūüôā

instagram pic

To be honest with you, it was a challenging project. I made it from scratch using chipboard, paper and tape. The skeleton itself took me a few days to finish and it wasn’t the prettiest so I don’t really want to show you that LOL. Besides, you can always buy the pre-made ones in Michaels or Jo-Ann and then decorate it! Anyhow, the whole project took me around a month from design to finish.

12270170_10153659187464360_1618772722_n

I used pattern papers to cover up the skeleton. I also created a roof (basically a 3D triangle made with chipboard). Guess what did I use to make the shingles! I used a scalloped border die on grey texture paper. The doors are made from a little tag die. This project really drove me to be creative with my stash!

12248785_10153659187449360_616136514_n

So let’s talk about decorating! I deliberately made the house big (12″X12″X2″) because I planned to use all my stamps on it while still keeping everything in proportion ūüôā I have planned out a scene where there will be reindeers flying over the roof with a sledge overflowing with presents. As my dear friend Angel mentioned, Christmas should have A LOT of presents, right?! But I didn’t want the presents to just fall down and break!! So I¬†got this idea to have the arctic penguins downstairs to come to the rescue. I also changed the penguins’ expression from cute to being irritated and exhausted from running around.

12282804_10153659187434360_460990149_n

To stick with the odd number rule, I made one¬†more scene with the happy elves decorating the Christmas tree. I stuffed this scene, again, with A TON of presents to give fullness. Oh by the way, there are snow piled up behind the elves and penguins and blocking the doors. But don’t you worry, they’re attached by magnets so they can be easily removed.

12278151_10153659187479360_736509224_n

To finish the design, I added the pretty tiny bows and the days. I used 4 layers of the bow die cuts to make the main door bow more solid. I also added a whole row of Christmas lights along the ground floor of the house. Oh did I also mention that everything is covered in glitter?! I used my Wink of Stella glitter pen to add glitter to almost everything because everything should have glitter for Christmas!!!

For the trinklets inside, I will mostly put in candies, but I made 2 surprise zonks where there’ll be no candies, but just forest animals when you open the doors. Apparently, they were too hungry so they already ate your candy LOL!!!

At last, I want to thank Mama Elephant, Lawn Fawn and Pretty Pink Posh for creating such amazing and versatile products to allow me to finish my project!!! :))))))

All the supplies I used are linked within my post. I thought it’d be easier for this particular post since everything is so scattered. Thanks for stopping by!! Don’t forget to follow me on other social media to see more from me in the future! Have a wonderful day!!

Supplies:

  1. Mama Elephant Reindeer Games Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  2. Mama Elephant Reindeer Games Die Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  3. Mama Elephant Arctic Penguins Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  4. Mama Elephant Arctic Penguins Die Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  5. Mama Elephant Christmas Spirit Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  6. Mama Elephant Christmas Spirit Die Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  7. Mama Elephant Balloon Et Cetera Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  8. Mama Elephant Balloon Et Cetera Die Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  9. Mama Elephant Borderlines Trio Die: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  10. Mama Elephant Landscape Trio Die: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  11. Lawn Fawn Baaah Humbug Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  12. Lawn Fawn Baaah Humbug Die Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  13. Pretty Pink Posh Mini Tags Dies: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  14. Pretty Pink Posh Twine and Bows Die: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  15. Hero Arts Shadow Ink in Tide Pool: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  16. Ranger Ink Blending Tool: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  17. Ranger Ink Blending Tool Replacement Foam: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  18. Tumbled Glass Distress Ink: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  19. Uni-Ball Signo White Gel Pen: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  20. Wink of Stella Clear Glitter Pen: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  21. Ranger Glossy Accents: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  22. Scotch Double-Sided Foam Tape: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  23. Cheaper Alternative Foam Tape: Ellen Hutson
  24. Be Creative Tape/ Scor-Tape: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  25. Disc Magnets: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp

4 thoughts on “DIY Christmas Advent Calendar

  1. This is an amazing accomplishment! I have always wanted to make one but was to intimidated by the work involved. I love how adorable this turned out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

