When Stamp Takes Selfies #stamptakesselfie

Today I suddenly have an idea to make my stamp images take selfies LOL. I know. I’m weird… I treat cartoon images like they’re real and I imitate their voices in daily life… (Cough cough.. TMI…) Anyways, back to selfies. I took a lot of selfies because, come on, I am from Hong Kong. After I moved to the US, I don’t do it anymore, but I think it’d be really fun to make your critters takeΒ selfies of themselves!

sheep selfie

 

This first card look simple but it actually involves quite some steps. I first used a stitched photo frame die to create two masks. I put the frame masks on the card then I stamped the imagesΒ into the frames. For the left picture, additional masking is needed to make the sheep look like they’re overlapping each other.

I colored all the sheep in Copic markers. I made the girl sheep whiter and the boy sheep darker πŸ™‚ In the left picture, I used an identical stamp for both sheep, so coloring them differently makes them look different. Also, since the frame is blocking the ear of the boy sheep, you really can’t tell he doesn’t have horns!

After all the coloring, I added the backgrounds inside the 2 photos. They are done using distress inks in twisted citron and tumbled glass. The snow in the right photoΒ is liquid pearl. Note that the liquid pearl takes a few hours to dry so find something else to do when waiting. I went to get lunch πŸ™‚

Now, everything inside the photos isΒ finished, it’s time to move outside the photos. I masked both photos and lightly blended in some distress inks in the background to make a halo. I also added in some ink splatters using the ink refills in cracked pistachio (because I don’t have twisted citron refill) and tumbled glass.

At last, the card is finished with a thin sentiment strip. By the way, I have grouped these 2 cards under #stamptakesselfie on Instagram. If you like this idea and end up creating something, please tag it underΒ #stamptakesselfie so we can all go see it and get inspired! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I have entered this card into the Lawnscaping Challenge No. 120.

lawnscaping xmas

I was so inspired by this selfie idea that I made another card. The steps are basically the same in this card except I used some tips and techniques from this video by Jennifer McGuire. I also used some foam snowflake die cuts from Spellbinders to embellish this card. Which card do you like more? Let me know!

wplus9 bear and girl selfie.jpg

bunny bowl

Click to watch Jennfier McGuire’s video

Supplies used:

  1. Pretty Pink Posh – Stitched Photo Frame Dies
  2. Lawn Fawn – Baaah Humbug Stamp Set
  3. Wplus9 – Holiday Hugs Stamp Set
  4. Spellbinders – Create a Flake Die
  5. RangerΒ Distress Inks & Refills – Tumbled Glass, Twisted Citron, Cracked Pistachio
  6. Ranger Liquid Pearl

7 thoughts on “When Stamp Takes Selfies #stamptakesselfie

    1. Thank you Michelle!! I know you left me a comment before but I had to get rid of that post because something was wrong. My apology! I’d love to see your owl selfie! Why don’t you create a #dietakesselfie and post on IG? πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

