Inspired By Blue & White Porcelain

Today I am inspired by the beautiful blue and white porcelain from China. I remember seeing them in museums when I was back home. In Chinese, we call them “青花瓷”, “青花” meaning “blue flowers”. It’s such a beautiful word. I created these cards using some elements from traditional Chinese paintings. I hope you will see the more oriental side of me in this post.

orchid flate (2) - blog

In my first card, I used the Oriental Orchid set to imitate the painting on the porcelain. The key is to use several shades of blue when stamping the flowers. One may think that the porcelain only has two colors – blue and white, but it actually has several shades of blue when you look closer. I have used MFT Lush Lagoon, Altenew Dusk and Altenew Desert Night.

orchid up (2) - blog

I finished off the card with the sentiment and most importantly, the handmade stamp in red color. To me, this is the most emotional part when creating this card. This stamp really reminds me of traditional Chinese paintings. My late grandpa was a Chinese artist and he used to paint everyday in our house. Every time when he finishes a painting, he’d stamp the exact same thing (of course with his signature on it) with a red pigment on the painting. Oh my!! I have used Hero Arts Fall Tomato ink for this. I think it imitates that red color well.

beautiful day (10) - blog

For my second card, I was inspired by May Park‘s most recent video on creating a floral frame background. Here is my take on it.

  1. Mask off the edges and the center of the card
  2. Stamp Beautiful Day images randomly using different shades of blue – Altenew Ocean Waves, Dusk and Desert Night
  3. Start with larger images, then fill in the gaps with small images
  4. Lastly, fill the small spaces with tiny dot stamps from Mama Elephant
  5. Stamp the sentiment in Altenew Dusk ink
  6. Finish off with the “handmade” stamp from Oriental Orchid set in Hero Arts Fall Tomato ink

beautiful day up (1) - blog

I hope you’ve known me better from this post. I truly love the Oriental Orchid set designed by May Park. Those orchids, the calligraphy sentiment, and that “handmade” stamp. Oh my! She is truly a genius!

2 thoughts on “Inspired By Blue & White Porcelain

  1. Amy, these are beautiful! I’m Japanese but remember seeing the red stamp on art work when I lived in Japan (in fact I think I have one somewhere of my own name…now I’ll have to go find it). Anyway I totally got the feeling of porcelain from your card before I even got to your post! 🙂 Love them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

