Wishes You Were Here

blog header

Happy Monday! I’d like to share a sentimental card today. I was looking for ideas to stretch my MFT Adorable Elephant set. This cutie looks like it’s looking deeply into the sky and can be thinking of someone. So I made it a lonely little guy missing its friend in my card. I also made a huge moon for drama.

elephant night stand  (1) - blog AMY

Here’s my card and how I created it.

  1. Grab a clean white cardstock, die cut a grassy hill using the Grassy Hill Die-namics. Set it aside
  2. On a piece of scratch paper, die cut a big circle. Save both the positive and negative as masks
  3. On the main piece, mask off the sky. Blend in the moon with distress inks – Squeezed Lemonade, Mustard Seed and Spiced Marmalade. Remove the mask, lightly blend in a soft halo outside the moon
  4. Use the circle die cut to mask off the moon, blend in the night sky with Blueprint Sketch, Chipped Sapphire and Black Soot. Flick white acrylic paint with a tooth brush to make the stars
  5. Blend in Twisted Citron and Black Soot on the grassy hill
  6. Die cut and stamp the elephant, flowers and butterflies. Color with Copic markers
  7. Inlay the grassy hill to the main panel. Mount other images with foam tape
  8. Trim the panel to size. I decided to trim off 1/4″ on the long side. Adhere onto a white card base with Be Creative Tape

elephant night flat - blog AMY

That’s it for my card. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a wonderful week!

Supplies:

10 thoughts on “Wishes You Were Here

  1. This is breath-taking Amy!! Your blending is so perfect and seamless. What type of card stock do you find the best for ink blending?? And what a brilliant idea flicking the white paint for stars (must try that out). Its a beautiful scene with that sweet little elephant. You really are a card making genius!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Shona!!!! I have used Recollections Cardstock here. Actually it doesn’t matter much which Cardstock to use. I just practiced a lot lol. If I will add a ton of water for bleaching then I’ll use watercolor Cardstock

      Like

Leave a Reply

