Watercolor Painting – Rusty Lock

Watercolor Lock

Hello there! Happy Sunday! I am popping in today with something different – a watercolor painting instead of a card. I still haven’t decided whether to regularly post this type of posts. So, I’d love to hear what you think πŸ™‚

I am a huge fan of watercolor and I am serious about it. My long-term goal in life is to become a watercolorist and I am slowly working towards it.Β In fact, I recently went to my local college and took a classΒ onΒ it. This painting is my last homework for the class and the more I looked at it, the more I like it. That’s why I’d like to share it with you today. It may not be an expert painting, in fact I think of it as a very amateur painting, but I want to be able to look at it in 10 years and say “Oh, that’s when I first started.”

I like the many different textures in this painting. For the wood, I painted layers of washes and added the wood grain with a liner brush. For the rust, I painted them using wet on wet technique, then I added salt. I kept adding more layers until I was happy with it. Lastly, I added in the shadows for dimension.

Since finishingΒ this painting, I haven’t been able to paint once because I was so busy with cardmaking. I hope things will change soon so I can paint more! Being able to paint like this also helps my cardmaking a ton!

That’s it for today. Thank you so much for stopping by and checking out my work! I am very grateful! Have a fabulous weekend and I will see you in my next card post! πŸ™‚

26 thoughts on “Watercolor Painting – Rusty Lock

  1. Thanks for sharing your watercolor with us!!! Love it! You have skills…. Keep it up. The depth is so realistic. It feels like I can grab the lock from the page!!! Awesome!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful!! I just started taking watercolor classes about 8 months ago and would love to see more from you! What watercolor paint did you use? Thanks🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What! The woodgrains are hand painted as well?? Beautiful work!! I’m no watercolourist πŸ˜› but the painting has a very rustic feel about it! And the colours are nice..Especially the knob..and the buckle (if that’s how u call it) it’s all covered in rust..even the wood is infected with the rust. Thumbsssss up! I’m sure you’ll get to where you want in watercolouring! Jia you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t know what you are talking about. This is definitely not the work of an amateur. ☺ I love the textures you’ve achieved in the wood and the colours you’ve used. Maybe it’s not “perfect ” but what watercolor is? It’s lovely and I think you are already a worthy artist. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you SO SO MUCH!!! Your comment brought smile to my face! You’re right, watercolor is not perfect and it’s that imperfections that I love!! Thank you so much for leaving me such a sweet comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

