Caring Hearts Blog Hop 2016

caring-hearts

Hello friends! Welcome to the Caring Hearts Card Drive Blog Hop! Our purpose is to collect handmade holiday cards for the elderly that live in nursing homes around the world. Since 2010, we have been spreading holiday cheer to many nursing homes throughout the US, Canada and Australia, and this year, we are branching out to the UK!

It truly makes me happy that I can bring a little joy to folks by doing my favorite thing – making cards! My grandfather used to live in a nursing home before he passed away. So, I have special feelings about nursing home and the elderly who live there. We really hope you will join us in supporting this meaningful cause! For those of you who wants to participate, we have prepared a lot of prizes for many winners. All you have to do is send us your handmade cards with a message inside. For details of entry and prizes, please refer to Vera Yates’ Blog and Jennifer McGuire’s Blog.

OK! Now, let’s move onto my card! I used the Die-namics Gift Box Cover-Up to frame the snowflakes, just like looking at the snow outside the window. I can’t seem to steer away from the warm color scheme 😛

mft-simply-snowflakes-1

mft-simply-snowflakes-2

Here is how I made my card:

  1. Die cut a piece of watercolor paper with the Die-namics Gift Box Cover-Up. Use masking tape to mask the lower half of the panel, blend Festive Berries on the top part. Do the same to the bottom part with Wild Honey
  2. On another piece of watercolor paper, blend the same inks as background
  3. Stamp the snowflakes with MFT hybrid inks (Red Hot, Pineapple, Latte). Die cut out with Die-namics Simply Snowflakes. Stamp some small snowflakes with hybrid inks (Paver Red, Orange Zest)
  4. White heat emboss the sentiment on black card stock
  5. Mount everything as shown in place with foam tape. Add water droplets. Embellish with some PPP sequins (4mm Lavender Moon, 4mm Clear Droplets, 4mm Strawberry Burst, 4mm Sunshine Glow, 6mm Metallic Rose Gold). Again, I used a lot of colored sequins :))

MFT Simply Snowflakes (3).jpg

Giveaway:

gift-card_638-01

No hop is complete without some fun giveaway, right? Simon Says Stamp has generously offered a $150 gift card for this hop. All you need to do is visit and leave comment on each designer’s blog post. A winner will be randomly selected from one of the participant blogs. You will have till midnight Thurday, 11/17/2016 to leave comment. The winner will be announced on Vera’s blog on Friday, 11/18/2016.

Here is the lineup of today’s amazing designers:

Amy Lee (Me!)

Simon Says Stamp

That is all for today. Thank you so much for stopping by! Happy crafting! 🙂

Supplies:

  1. My Favorite Things Simply Snowflakes Stamp Set: My Favorite Things
  2. My Favorite Things Simply Snowflakes Die-namics: My Favorite Things
  3. My Favorite Things Winter Wonderland Stamp Set: My Favorite Things
  4. My Favorite Things Die-namics Gift Box Cover-Up: My Favorite Things
  5. Canson XL Watercolor Paper: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  6. Black Card Stock: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  7. White Embossing Powder: Ellen Hutson //  Simon Says Stamp
  8. Painter’s Blue Tape: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  9. Festive Berries Distress Ink: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  10. Wild Honey Distress Ink: Ellen Hutson //  Simon Says Stamp
  11. My Favorite Things Red Hot Hybrid Ink: My Favorite Things
  12. My Favorite Things Pineapple Hybrid Ink: My Favorite Things
  13. My Favorite Things Latte Hybrid Ink: My Favorite Things
  14. My Favorite Things Paver Red Hybrid Ink: My Favorite Things
  15. My Favorite Things Orange Zest Hybrid Ink: My Favorite Things
  16. Ranger Distress Sprayer Water Bottle: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  17. Scotch Double-Sided Foam Tape: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  18. Cheaper Alternative Foam Tape: Ellen Hutson
  19. Be Creative Tape/ Scor-Tape: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  20. Pretty Pink Posh 4mm Lavender Moon Sequins: Simon Says Stamp
  21. Pretty Pink Posh 6mm Metallic Rose Gold Sequins: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  22. Pretty Pink Posh 4mm Clear Droplets: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  23. Pretty Pink Posh 4mm Strawberry Burst Sequins: Simon Says Stamp
  24. Pretty Pink Posh 4mm Sunshine Glow Sequins: Simon Says Stamp

371 thoughts on “Caring Hearts Blog Hop 2016

  1. the card is super gorgeous! wouldn’t think of using snowflakes with warm colours but the result is so good. thanks for the inspiration

    Like

Leave a Reply

