Simon Says Stamp – Sending Hugs

header

Happy Friday!! Today I am popping in to share a “sending hugs” card using Simon Says Stamp supplies. I finally got to play with the beautiful Winter Flowers Stamp Set. This set was designed by Kristina Werner and it was meant for Christmas, but I used it in a more generic way today.

SSS Sending Hugs (2).jpg

SSS Sending Hugs (3).jpg

I first white heat embossed the images from the Winter Flowers Stamp Set on a panel of Arches Watercolor Paper. I used this high quality paper today because I will be painting a lot of layers. This paper handles water much better than the Canson XL Watercolor Paper and the Tim Holtz Watercolor Paper, which I use all the time for both ink blending and watercoloring.

sss-sending-hugs-1

I slowly watercolored the flowers, berries and leaves and then followed by the beige/brown background. After the panel was dry, I added in some shadows using some dark browns and grays. Then, of course I had to add some splatters. I have used the same colors I used earlier – red, green and purple. Finally, I also added in more white dot-and-line details for highlights using some white gouache.

Here are some close-ups:

dscn1278-2

dscn1279-2

dscn1280-2

To finish, I stamped the sentiment from the Big Scripty Greetings Stamp Set in black and clear heat embossed it. That’s it for today. Thank you for stopping by! Happy crafting  🙂

Supplies:

  1. Simon Says Stamp Winter Flowers Stamp Set: Simon Says Stamp
  2. Big Scripty Greetings Stamp Set: Simon Says Stamp
  3. Arches Watercolor Paper: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  4. Canson XL Watercolor Paper: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  5. Tim Holtz Watercolor Paper: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  6. EK Success Powder Tool: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  7. Versamark Watermark Ink: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  8. Hero Arts White Embossing Powder: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  9. Ranger Clear Embossing Powder: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  10. Hero Arts Wagner Heat Gun: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  11. Versafine Onyx Black Ink Pad: Ellen Hutson //  Simon Says Stamp

 

6 thoughts on “Simon Says Stamp – Sending Hugs

Leave a Reply

