Altenew – Watercolor Texture Butterflies

Hello! Happy first day of May! I’m popping in today to share my recent card using watercolor texture with Altenew’s Painted Butterflies Stamp Set. I have always been a huge fan of watercolor texture and I think this technique works best with white heat embossing outlines.

DSCN1607.1-7-7788910-11

My card today features the Altenew Painted Butterflies Set which have several butterfly designs. It inspires me to use calming and ethereal colors on my card. I first started by stamping several butterflies onto a watercolor paper using Versamark embossing ink. Then, I white heat embossed the butterflies by using my heat gun. I took out my watercolor palette and I picked out two shades of purple and a light flesh color. I painted layers by layers, with drying in between, to create transparency of colors. This transparency effect is exactly why I love watercolors so much!!! It is so delicate and surreal in person! I finished off the watercoloring with a few splatters of paint and Perfect Pearl solution.

DSCN1612.1-7788910

For the sentiment, I white heat embossed the simple “Just saying hello” from the same stamp set on a thick strip of SSS Slate Gray Cardstock. The minimalist font with the thick strip adds a touch of slickness to my design and it balances out the femininity of the watercolored butterflies. I finished the card by mounting everything onto a Neenah Solar White card base with foam tape.

A close up of the watercolored butterflies below. I color corrected all my photos. In real life, my card appears to be more purple than blue. It’s always a struggle to capture the colors and details in real life on photographs. I just wish I can show you the real card!

DSCN1607.1-7-7788910.2

That’s it for today. Hope you enjoy my post. Happy crafting!

Supplies:

  1. Altenew Painted Butterflies Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  2. Schmincke Horadam 48 Half Pan Watercolor Set: Blick Art
  3. Perfect Pearl Pigment Powder: Simon Says Stamp
  4. Canson XL Watercolor Paper: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  5. Simon Says Stamp Slate Gray Cardstock: Simon Says Stamp
  6. Neenah Solar White 110lb Cardstock: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  7. MISTI Stamping Tool: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  8. EK Success Powder Tool: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  9. Versamark Watermark Ink: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  10. Hero Arts White Embossing Powder: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  11. Hero Arts Wagner Heat Gun: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  12. Scotch Double-Sided Foam Tape: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  13. Cheaper Alternative Foam Tape: Ellen Hutson
  14. Be Creative Tape/ Scor-Tape: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp

 

Leave a Reply

