Copic Drawing – Rurouni Kenshin

kenshin-8

Hi there! Today’s post is not about cards. Instead it’s a drawing I recently finished. The character I’m drawing is Himura Kenshin from Rurouni Kenshin. It’s a Japanese anime from the 90s that features the story around this samurai. There’s fighting, cuteness and a little bit of romance. You might think it’s old news but I just love it so so much!! I guess we all have something from our childhood that we can’t seem to move on from. To me, it’s Kenshin πŸ™‚

The drawing I did this time was referenced from the last manga book of the series. Here is the cover, with Kenshin holding his sword and his girlfriend behind him. My goal was to draw out Kenshin as close to the original as possible without tracing it. I feel like this would be a good practice for me, in figuring out lines, shapes and proportions. You gotta start somewhere you know, right?!

Kenshinvolume28.jpg

I first started out with a pencil draft below. When I took this photo, something was still off. I feel like the person didn’t look quite right. So, I stopped and walked away. When I come back to look at it, I could discover new things that I needed to correct. Slowly, I could get it to look better, at least I was happy enough to do the line art and color it!

kenshin wip

And then comes the super fun part – coloring! I used Copic markers to color the whole image. I first layered on super light colors, leaving the highlights. In this case, the highlights are white and yellow because I think he was facing the sun. Then, I added on darker and darker colors layer by layer, with drying in between to prevent bleeding. At the end, my image looks a lot bolder than the original, which I really like!

I also used a thicker Copic multi-liner to outline the outer lines to make it even more anime like. Β If you’re interested in the colors I used, I have them listed below. Please bear in mind that I’m not a professional artist so I’m still experimenting with everything, you don’t have to follow me!

Skin tone: E0000, YR000, YR00, E00, YR02, R12

Hair: Y11 as base, YR00, E11, E13, E15, E19, E44 (with a bit of YR27)

Yellow Highlights: Y11, Y13, Y15, Y17, YR15

Robe: R14, R17, R37, R39, R89

Hair band: B26

Shadow on white parts: W1, W5, W7

Alright, that’s it! Thank you so much for reading and letting me share my drawing with you! Hopefully I will have some time to share my cards soon! Until then, see you next time!

4 thoughts on “Copic Drawing – Rurouni Kenshin

Leave a Reply

