Altenew – Chalk Board Christmas Cards

Hi friends! I want to share with you today my chalk board inspired Christmas cards. Here is my first card.

DSCN9868.1-2

To create this card, I first applied Black Soot Distress Ink all over a Simon Says Stamp Slate Card Stock. The reason I didn’t use a black card stock is I was out, so I created my own with ink blending. I used Slate card because it would be easier to turn this gray card into black than turning white card stock all the way into black.

DSCN9875.1-3.jpg

DSCN9880.1-2.jpg

I then stamped the cute images from Altenew Bells and Bows Stamp Set all over with Versamark Watermark Ink. I did the same for the sentiment from Altenew Holiday Wishes. After that, I poured white embossing powder all over the panel and heat set them with a Heat Gun. I deliberately didn’t make things perfect, even leaving in embossing powder here and there and not cleaning it up. I love the imperfections in this! To make the card even more rustic, I white heat embossed the edges of the panel and added paint splatters. Again, incorporating some imperfections for a more organic finish. Finally, I first die cut the panel with MFT Wonky Stitched Rectangle STAX Die-namics, then with MFT Die-namics Blueprints 25 and fixed some twine.

DSCN9890.4-4

This technique is so much fun! I made another card using the same technique. This time I used Altenew Wild Hibiscus Stamp Set and Altenew Celebrations Stamp Set. The sentiment is also from the same Altenew Holiday Wishes Stamp Set. At last, I die cut the panel with MFT Wonky Stitched Rectangle STAX Die-namics to break up the panel. I added more rustic-ness by heat embossing the edges of the two panels. Finally, I fixed some twine with jingle bells and mounted the panel onto a card base with foam tape.

DSCN9862.1-3.jpg

I love the rustic look of these holiday cards and I love how special they look! Now I just wish Christmas gets here sooner! As always, thanks for stopping by and I give you a BIG CRAFTY HUG from Seattle!! 🙂

Supplies:

  1. Altenew Wild Hibiscus Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  2. Altenew Celebrations Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  3. Altenew Bells and Bows Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  4. Altenew Holiday Wishes Stamp Set: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  5. MFT Wonky Stitched Rectangle STAX Die-namics: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  6. MFT Die-namics Blueprints 25: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  7. Simon Says Stamp Slate Card Stock: Simon Says Stamp
  8. Black Soot Distress Ink: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  9. Ranger Watercolor Brush #9: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  10. Silver Black Velvet Paint Bursh #6: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  11. Versamark Watermark Ink: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  12. Hero Arts White Embossing Powder: Simon Says Stamp
  13. Hero Arts Wagner Heat Gun: Simon Says Stamp
  14. Natural Hemp Cord Twine: Simon Says Stamp
  15. Jingle Bells: Simon Says Stamp
  16. MISTI Stamping Tool: Ellen Hutson // Simon Says Stamp
  17. Scotch Double-Sided Foam Tape:  Simon Says Stamp

Leave a Reply

